The complete product-system range

Cable or rod railing system

Approximately $60–$245 per linear foot

per linear foot, product system

Current manufacturer-published examples vary by post material, infill, mounting, project complexity, environment, and product tier. Installation, freight, demolition, structural preparation, and tax may be separate.

Sources: Viewrail

Viewrail publishes complete cable and rod systems at $60–$245 per linear foot as of August 2026, excluding shipping, tax, and installation. Keuka Studios shows example systems from about $144 to $623 per foot, with stairs at the upper end and a $5,000 minimum order; its page does not state whether those examples include installation. StairSupplies lists a figure of about $90–$180 per foot without a stated scope or date, so we treat it only as loose context.

Note what is not the cost: the cable wire alone is inexpensive. Reducing a project to the price of cable leaves out almost everything that matters.

Aluminum, steel, and stainless posts; cable diameter and hardware

Posts are where most of the money is. Powder-coated aluminum is typically the economical baseline; powder-coated steel is stiffer and heavier; stainless steel costs more but resists corrosion and suits exposed and coastal locations. End and corner posts must resist the combined tension of every cable, so they are heavier than intermediate posts. Cable diameter, fittings (swaged, mechanical, or threaded), and tensioners vary by system.

Stair runs versus level runs, corners, and short segments

Raked stair sections need angled fittings and more precise layout, so the planner prices them 15–35% above level runs. Every corner adds about $150–$450 and every termination $100–$320 in the planning model. Simple long runs usually price lower per foot than many short runs, because each segment needs its own end posts and tensioning hardware — the planner applies a short-segment premium when runs average under 8 ft.

Surface versus fascia mount

Surface mounting places posts on top of the floor or deck. Fascia mounting attaches posts to the side, keeping the walking surface clear and often looking cleaner, but it needs a stout rim or edge structure and costs more. Either way, the attachment must resist cable tension and guard loads.

Interior versus exterior and coastal conditions

Cable works indoors and out. Outdoors, use stainless cable and fittings and corrosion-resistant posts; near salt water or pools, marine-grade stainless and more frequent cleaning are typical, and the planner widens the range for coastal and pool environments.

Wood versus metal handrail

Many cable systems use a metal or wood top rail. Whether that top rail can serve as the stair handrail depends on its shape and height; otherwise a separate graspable handrail is added. Model-code handrail heights are commonly 34 in to 38 in, measured vertically from the sloped plane of the tread nosings (2021 IRC R311.7.8.1; 2024 IRC R320.2 — model code; verify locally).

Cable tension and maintenance

Cables stretch and relax, so periodic re-tensioning is normal. Guard openings must stay within limits under load — for context, the 2021 IRC model limit is Openings may not allow passage of a 4 in sphere; 4⅜ in on open sides of stairs; 6 in at the triangular opening below the bottom rail (2021 IRC R312.1.3; 2024 IRC R321.3 — model code; verify locally). Spacing, post spacing, and tension come from the manufacturer’s tested system, not a rule of thumb. Some jurisdictions scrutinize horizontal infill as climbable; ask locally.

Installation, substrate, and blocking

Installation is modeled at $28–$80 per foot with a minimum charge. End posts in wood framing usually need added blocking; concrete may need scanning and specific anchors; waterproof decks need compatible post bases. These are the most common surprises on cable projects.

Sources

  1. Viewrail cable and rod railing pricingManufacturer · Published per-linear-foot ranges for complete cable and rod railing product systems. Accessed October 14, 2026.What the page showed: Complete cable/rod systems $60–$245 per linear foot, as of August 2026; excludes shipping, tax, and installation.
  2. Viewrail cable railing systemsManufacturer · Post, mounting, and handrail options for one cable railing product line. Accessed October 14, 2026.
  3. Keuka Studios guide to cable railing costManufacturer · Cable railing cost drivers from a custom manufacturer. Accessed October 14, 2026.What the page showed: Example systems about $144–$623 per foot (stairs at the upper end); $5,000 minimum order; scope (product vs. installed) not stated.
  4. StairSupplies cable railing overviewSupplier / manufacturer · A second source for cable railing system options and pricing context. Accessed October 14, 2026.What the page showed: Shows “$90 – $180 per foot” without stated scope or date; used only as loose secondary context.
  5. 2021 International Residential Code, Chapter 3 (Building Planning)Model code (official) · Full 2021 IRC stair (R311.7), guard (R312), and spiral-stair model provisions quoted in the code guide. Accessed October 14, 2026.What the page showed: Readable in a browser. Stair width 36 in; headroom 6 ft 8 in; riser 7¾ in max; tread 10 in min; handrail 34–38 in; guards 36 in (34 in on stair sides) where more than 30 in above the floor below; spiral 26 in width, 6¾ in tread at walkline, 9½ in riser, 6 ft 6 in headroom.

See all sources